El Camino Real International Heritage Center – New Mexico (GA85)

Mary is no longer available for RV traveling, but we remain good friends.
Because we have 4,000+ postings, I’ve invited her to continue posting entries on this blog.
I’m currently in my 22nd year of full-time RVing and my lifestyle is changing, For more info click Here

The motorhome is parked at Thousand Trails Lake Minden RV Resort in Nicolaus, California. I’m scheduled to leave here May 26th.

 

 

Since my RVing life is changing (see above), I’m starting to re-visit previously visited places. So rather than constantly re-blogging past entries, I’ve decided to do something different.

 

 

In 2011-2013, Mary and I did a 682 day, 12,679 miles in the motorhome and 8,000 miles in the Bronco, circumnavigation of the United States, which I called The Great Adventure. I called it so because other than my oldest granddaughter’s high school graduation in June in Connecticut, I didn’t know where we would be going or when we would be there!

 

 

So, unless I do something really different and unusual warranting a new blog entry, I’ll be posting entries from that trip.

 

 

 

This entry was posted April 19, 2012…

 

 

 

Yesterday I visited this museum located about 35 miles north of Truth or Consequences, New Mexico. It presents a very complete story of the Royal Road also known as the King’s Highway that ran from Mexico City to Santa Fe, New Mexico. You can read more about this facility by clicking these two links…

 

http://www.nmmonuments.org/el-camino-real

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Camino_Real_International_Heritage_Center

 

 

 

 

 

The photography conditions were terrible. The inside was dimly lit and outside the brilliant sunshine was brutal. Nonetheless…I ventured forth. Here are some of the photos that I took…

 

 

 

 

 

As always you may left click upon an image to see an enlarged view and then click once again to see an even larger view…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In this final photo, the El Camino Real is about eight miles distant. The mountain range on the right is Fra Cristobal. The Rio Grande River passes to the right…right up against the mountain range which made it impassable to early travelers. They were forced to go to the left of the mountain range on the Jornado Del Muerto also known as the Journey of the Dead. Many people died in this 100 mile stretch because there were no dependable water supplies…

 

 

You can view the other 30 photo that I took by clicking this link…
https://picasaweb.google.com/110455945462646142273/ElCaminoRealInternationalHeritageCenterNewMexico

 

 

I wrote about the Jornado Del Muerto a few days back and you can read that entry by clicking this link…
http://wp.me/pDCku-49n

 

 

I spent the night in the back parking lot of the Owl Bar and Cafe in San Antonio, New Mexico. You cannot come to this tiny town and not have a green chili burger. I did and it was tasty. This guy gives a good write-up about the Owl Bar and Cafe…
http://nmgastronome.com/blog/?p=176

 

 

 

TWO FOR THE PRICE OF ONE! MARY WROTE A MANY GREAT BLOGS…SO WHENEVER SHE PUBLISHED A BLOG POSTING THE SAME DAY THAT I DID…YOU WILL BE ABLE TO READ HER BLOG BY CLICKING THE BELOW LINK! DO IT NOW…!!!

https://otrwjam.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/lousy-photos/

 

 

 

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THE PHOTOS.

 Yesterday was sunny and 97 degrees. Forecast for today is sunny and 98 degrees.

Enjoying nice weather is another joy in the life of a full-time RVer!

The red dot on the below map shows my approximate location in the State of California. You may double left-click the map to make it larger…

Enjoying 65-75 degree temperatures with low humidity most of the year is a primary joy in the RVing lifestyle!

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving”…Albert Einstein

2

My current travel rig is a 2006 Fleetwood 26′ Class A Motorhome and a towed 1986 Ford Bronco II, Eddie Bauer Model. This photo was taken in the desert at Slab City near Niland, California…

DSC040481b

On October 27, 2012, I created a two-minute video titled America The Beautiful. The music America The Beautiful is by Christopher W. French. The photos, which I randomly selected, are from the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Tennessee, Washington and West Virginia (not shown in that order)…are mine. Yup, That’s me standing in front of the Post Office in Luckenbach, Texas…Y’all!

Click this link to start the video. Make sure you have your speakers turned on and go to full screen asap.
http://youtu.be/FfZUzEB4rM8

If you would like to see my YouTube videos, click this link… http://www.youtube.com/user/JimJ1579/videos

There are more than 700 photo albums in my Picasa Web Albums File. To gain access, you simply have to click this link… https://get.google.com/albumarchive/110455945462646142273?source=pwa

If you have not checked out my Ramblin Man’s Photos Blog, you can do so by clicking this link…http://ramblinmanphotos.wordpress.com/

For more information about my books, click this link:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/panamaorbust

All original works copyrighted – Jim Jaillet -2017

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.