A New Way To TV For Me…

Mary is no longer available for RV traveling, but we remain good friends.
Because we have 4,000+ postings, I’ve invited her to continue posting entries on this blog.
I’m currently in my 22nd year of full-time RVing and my lifestyle is changing, For more info click Here

The motorhome is parked at Moose Club #2178 in Bakersfield, California. Because I wanted a great taco salad last evening on Taco Tuesday, I’ll depart here later this morning.

 

I’ve never been much of a over-the-air TV watcher. Primarily because you were required to watch what THEY wanted, when THEY wanted. Then I also grew weary of the numerous and endless commercials.

 

Years ago in my last motorhome, I once hauled around a Dish TV Satellite Antenna..which I also grew weary of for the same reasons as mentioned above. I found someone to give it to.

 

Over the years, I’ve acquired about 300 of my favorite movies which I could enjoy at my leisure and pleasure, without commercials!

 

Recently I overheard someone talking about Roku and decided to look into it. Roku is a wireless television system offering 3,500+ channels. All you need is a TV that has a HDMI port, a decent wireless signal and a Roku device. (One time purchase price of $49.99 and no monthly fees.)

 

The only downsize was streaming TV gobbles up Gigabytes. A two-hour movie uses about one GB. Even with my Verizon 16GB plan…it just would not do. So, I called Verizon and upgraded to their unlimited date, talk and text plan and my bill went down by $16! I now get all that for $94  a month…now we’re talking! Now Roku can work for me!

 

The thing I’m loving about Roku is I can watch what I want, when I want. Within a few seconds I can find free and interesting programing with no commercials!

 

For instance, last night I watched a three-part series (one hour each), on The History of the Appalachian people. A great series…with no commercials!!!

 

Back in 2011, I replaced my old behemoth 54 pound, 18″ TV with a new 26 LG flat screen (11 pounds) and also installed a six-channel surround sound system. Here’s a link to that happening… https://otrwjam.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/the-motor-home-theater-is-now-operational/

 

 

 

 

As always you may left click upon an image to see an enlarged view and then click once again to see an even larger view…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some photos associated with my new Roku set-up…

 

 

I just replaced my 10-year-old, 15″ bedroom TV…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

with a new LG 24″ flat screen TV…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a Roku box…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a Wikipedia link about Roku…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roku

 

 

To find out more about Roku, simply type it into your Internet search box.

 

For those of you who know about or have it and are wondering why I just recently found out about it, need to know I’ve not watched TV for approaching 20 years…that includes the news which I find very negative and I cannot do a thing about it. I’ve reached a point in my life (also about 20 years ago) where nothing affects me any more. 911 doesn’t affect me, the wars in the middle east don’t affect me. I’ve come to find that if there is something important is going on in the world, that I’ll hear people talking about it and then I can look into how it might affect me.

 

I’ve come to love that attitude because it provides me with a very peaceful and contented state of mind. Hence, that’s how I found out about Roku.

 

 

Finally, TV the way it should be!!!!

 

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THE PHOTOS.

 Yesterday was partly sunny and 71 degrees. Forecast for today is partly sunny and 75 degrees.

Enjoying nice weather is another joy in the life of a full-time RVer!

The red dot on the below map shows my approximate location in the State of California. You may double left-click the map to make it larger…

Enjoying 65-75 degree temperatures with low humidity most of the year is a primary joy in the RVing lifestyle!

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving”…Albert Einstein

2

My current travel rig is a 2006 Fleetwood 26′ Class A Motorhome and a towed 1986 Ford Bronco II, Eddie Bauer Model. This photo was taken in the desert at Slab City near Niland, California…

DSC040481b

On October 27, 2012, I created a two-minute video titled America The Beautiful. The music America The Beautiful is by Christopher W. French. The photos, which I randomly selected, are from the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Tennessee, Washington and West Virginia (not shown in that order)…are mine. Yup, That’s me standing in front of the Post Office in Luckenbach, Texas…Y’all!

Click this link to start the video. Make sure you have your speakers turned on and go to full screen asap.
http://youtu.be/FfZUzEB4rM8

If you would like to see my YouTube videos, click this link… http://www.youtube.com/user/JimJ1579/videos

There are more than 700 photo albums in my Picasa Web Albums File. To gain access, you simply have to click this link… https://get.google.com/albumarchive/110455945462646142273?source=pwa

If you have not checked out my Ramblin Man’s Photos Blog, you can do so by clicking this link…http://ramblinmanphotos.wordpress.com/

For more information about my books, click this link:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/panamaorbust

All original works copyrighted – Jim Jaillet -2017

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A New Way To TV For Me…

  1. We cut the cord so to speak with cable TV about 4 or 5 yrs ago. Well technically I have basic cable but that is only because if I “bundle” with my internet, it is $5 cheaper to have it than not. We went with Roku back then and have never looked back. I am never without something to watch, when I do watch TV. I watch very little but when I do, like you I do not have interest in the news or commercials! It is not that I do not care what is going on in the world I live in, but I do not trust most sources. I usually find a series or something I like and kind of power watch it or find music performances that I missed. Glad you are happy with the new set-up.

    • ramblinmanjimj

      Hi Suezq,
      Yeah, now that my Verizon wireless has finally become affordable for me I’m enjoying TV for the first time in my life!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

